Saturday, November 18, 2017

DuckTales (2017)

Image source: Google Play
I've never seen much of the original DuckTales. It was a little before my time, and if I did see it when I was a kid, I was probably really young and don't remember it. I did, however, see a little leading up to the reboot, and I like what I did see. When I heard that it was being rebooted, I was indifferent since I didn't have any memories of the original, although I did like what we got leading up to the premiere.

Friday, October 13, 2017

My Little Pony: The Movie (2017)

Image source: Equestria Daily
When I started this blog nearly 3 years ago, I considered myself a brony (with my first review even being of the second Equestria Girls movie), and still do to some extent, but I'm not as into MLP as I used to be. I think this is because I haven't been enjoying the newer episodes as much as the older episodes. I still like them for the most part, but I honestly think the show might be past its best days. At this point, I'm looking more forward to new Equestria Girls material than the main show. However, I've been very much looking forward to the movie. It was co-written by Meghan McCarthy and directed by Jayson Thiessen (who were both key people in the earlier seasons of the show), and I loved everything that was seen leading up to the release.

Sunday, October 1, 2017

Cartoon Network Turns 25

Image source: Liam Biniares
Today marks Cartoon Network's 25th birthday, so I thought I'd do a post about it. This will be done in a similar style as my Nicktoons 25 post. Cartoon Network hasn't gone all out like they did for their 20th birthday, but they aren't ignoring it, either. They made a bumper (though I'm not sure if it will air on TV or not) and had a special sign-on today.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Classic Review: My Little Pony: The Movie (1986)

Image source: IMDb
With My Little Pony: The Movie hitting theaters next month, I thought it would be a good time to review the other movie with that title. My Little Pony first debuted as a toy from Hasbro called My Pretty Pony in 1981, followed by the first My Little Pony line in 1983. In 1984, Hasbro released a TV special based on the toys that was simply titled My Little Pony when it first aired before being retitled Rescue at Midnight Castle later on, followed by another special titled Escape from Catrina in 1985.

In 1986, Hasbro brought My Little Pony to the big screen before debuting a TV series that same year. It didn't do well at the box office, but it does seem to have at least gained a following with fans of My Little Pony G1.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Welcome to the Wayne

Image source: YouTube
Welcome to the Wayne started out as a series of digital shorts on Nick.com in 2014. I only just saw them last year, but I quite them and have been looking forward to the series since. It was announced for this year, but for a while, I wasn't sure if it was still coming this year because I hadn't heard much about it, but I was glad to find out it was.

Saturday, July 22, 2017

OK K.O.! Let's Be Heroes

Image source: RegularCapital
OK K.O.! started out as a pilot Cartoon Network released in 2013, followed by a series of online shorts in 2016. It was created by Ian Jones-Quarty, who was previously known for his work on Adventure Time and Secret Mountain Fort Awesome, and has since worked on Steven Universe. I don't think I liked the pilot and shorts as much as others seemed to, but I liked them nonetheless and was glad when I heard it was picked up to full series.

It doesn't premiere on TV until August 1, but the first 6 episodes were released on the Cartoon Network website, app, and On Demand on June 13. As of this writing, none of them require a cable log in on the app or website (though I don't know if it's geoblocked outside the U.S.).

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Billy Dilley's Super-Duper Subterranean Summer

Image source: Disney XD
I wasn't sure what to expect from Billy Dilley. It did have my attention because it was created by Aaron Springer (who's known for his work on SpongeBob) and the writing staff has SpongeBob alumni on it. When the previews started being released, it didn't exactly get the most positive reaction, but I still went into it with an open mind.